Food, Recipe

the living’s easy..

So much has happened these past few weeks. Last Saturday, I graduated from school in Minnesota. I can remember when I first visited Carleton, thinking it would be crazy and funny for this East Coaster to come out to a completely unknown region for four years. But secretly, I loved the idea of something so new. This past week I’ve been transitioning into Minneapolis where I’ll be for the summer, at least – job hunting, exploring, cooking, & surfing the internet will be the next stages of my life. Add to that trying to stay cool in the non air-conditioned house I’ll be subletting. But it’s in a great, quirky part of Minneapolis, and I’ve already been to several eateries, anticipating my new home. Currently, I have three suitcases, one night stand, my Bittman, and a copy of Bon Appetit’s Fast, Easy, Fresh in my possession, ready for use where ever I end up. I have a few goals in mind (update the food blog more often, continue to work on my website, get to know the city lakes, figure out how to keep cooking exciting on a modest budget) and will be trying to structure my free time so it doesn’t turn into one of those high school summers. (Which are glorious in their own right, buuuut, I’ve got places to go and things to do.)

How great is asparagus this time of year? Forget fancy recipes. I could eat stalks and stalks of it cooked in a little basil oil and sea salt. Tonight I made some to accompany a Trader Joe’s frozen Greek chicken dish (hey, even culinary-minded people love TJ’s frozen foods) along with this killer fruit salsa. This salsa is really versatile, probably because it can’t decide whether its predominantly sweet or spicy. You can push it in one direction – adding or subtracting spice – but the identity crisis keeps one’s taste buds going.

Pineapple Mango Apricot Salsa

 1/2 pineapple, cut into small chunks

1 apricot, finely diced

1 mango, cut into small chunks

3 medium tomatoes, diced

1/4 white onion, diced

1 tablespoon lime juice

1 tablespoon sweet chili sauce

1 tablespoon pepper pineapple marinade (found this in the fridge – substitute 2 tsp chili pepper flakes mixed with 1 tablespoon  citrus marmalade)

1/3 cup cilantro, shredded

salt and pepper to taste

Combine everything in a bowl and stick in the fridge, allowing to flavors to combine for about 30 minutes. Serve as a topping for meat/fish, with eggs, with chips and guac, on toast…you get the idea.

Standard

Leave a Reply

