Food, Musing

soup, photography

When I got my iPhone I never thought I’d be using it to do the majority of my food blogging. After all, last June I got a sweet 50mm lens, which is both one of the cheapest DSLR lenses (at about $100) and one of the best for the two things I love to shoot the most: portraits and food. It’s a beauty, and it continues to serve me well. Yet sometimes, in my fast-paced life, when I’m blogging about a dish I’m also cooking for my house dinner, I realize I have to be somewhere. This requires that I scarf down my food and not spend 20 minutes styling it as I’d like. Then I whip out the iPhone. I can edit photos with a number of apps, my favorite being good ol’ Instagram, as long as it’s not overused. It becomes important to focus on placement, lighting, and angles when shooting with a phone. As you can see in these photos, I made sure to use a nice bowl (earthenware) and shoot on a white countertop, with minimal surroundings and clear, fresh light. Food photography doesn’t require fancy material!

The photos are from a recent post for Food Matters, a community that is cooking through Mark Bittman’s Food Matters cookbook together, one recipe at a time. Check it out here.

Standard

Leave a Reply

