DSC_0318
Food, Recipe

fruit bowls & rosy bourbon lemonade

Does this look delicious? I can’t really take any credit. It’s all Mark Bittman. I’m still obsessed with my Food Matters Cookbook, which seems to have the perfect meal for me every time I peruse it. I reworked the recipe for Mexican Fruit Salad with Grilled Fish and created a Coconut Rice, Shrimp, & Fruit Bowl. Check it out at Small Kitchen College.

This I can take credit for. In an attempt to pay homage to my mother on Mother’s Day, I created a summer drink using bourbon, her alcohol of choice. The Southern Belle, as I call it, is a twist on whiskey lemonade. I added strawberries to make it tangier and rose water, which imparts a distinctly nostalgic flavor. It really is delicious!

Southern Belle

3-4 strawberries

2 oz (1 1/2 shots) bourbon

1 tablespoon simple syrup

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 tablespoon rose water

club soda

Muddle/macerate strawberries with a fork in a mason jar or high-ball glass. Add enough ice cubes to almost fill the glass. Add the bourbon, simple syrup, lemon juice, & rose water to a cocktail shaker filled with ice; immediately shake vigorously for 15 seconds and pour into glass. Top with club soda and mix slightly to stir up the strawberries.

Standard

One thought on “fruit bowls & rosy bourbon lemonade

  1. Denese says:

    I wass wondering if you eer thhought of changing the pagte layout of youjr site?
    Its very well written; I love whyat yokuve gott tto say. Butt maybe youu ccould a little more iin thee way oof contenbt soo peoplke ccould connewct
    with iit better. Yoouve ggot ann aawful lot oof tsxt forr only having onee
    orr 2 pictures. Maaybe yoou could space itt
    out better?

Leave a Reply

